January 16, 2009

Glyphs for the Holy Priest

Posted in General, WoW at 7:56 pm by Andrea

It would seem Garen is on a roll with his information on his holy priest and why he is… well the way he is… So here you have it… Garen’s Holy Priest Glyphs.

-Andrea

Okay, for the sake of this opening thought process, let’s assume that I am you!
So I’m a shiny new level 80 priest. I’ve already got a little healing experience, and I have made the decision to improve myself.
The first thing I did was respect to “Garen’s Awesome Spec ©”. I then went and loaded up on reagents. (That’s another post).
Now, I’m staring at the AH figuring out what I want for glyphs.
Glyphs? What are those?
Now, back to me being me, and you being you.
Well, Wowwiki gives a decent explanation of what glyphs are and what levels you need to be to use them.
Let’s read that now, shall we?

WoWWiki’s Thoughts
Glyphs are spell and ability enhancements that can be created by inscription.
Two kinds of glyphs exist: 
Major – large improvements to skills. 
Minor – small improvements to skills or cosmetic changes. 
Individuals gain a glyph slot based on their level: 
Level 15: 1 Major, 1 Minor. 
Level 30: 2 Major, 1 Minor. 
Level 50: 2 Major, 2 Minor. 
Level 70: 2 Major, 3 Minor. 
Level 80: 3 Major, 3 Minor. 
To be able to install a glyph, major or minor, you will need to stand close to a Lexicon of Power, which can be found near any Inscription trainer. 
Like gems, once installed, a glyph is consumed. It cannot be recovered. 
Glyphs can be overwritten, major by major and minor by minor. This can be used as a minor form of or in conjunction with respecing. 
End of WoWWiki’s Thoughts

So, glyphs can be kind of cool. Well, then there comes the question of WHICH glyphs do I want to use?
There aren’t that many glyphs available for each class. And the difference of Minor vs. Major glyphs is improvement vs. cosmetic.

Here is how I glyphed, you can change it as you see fit. But this is what made sense to me.

MINOR 1: Glyph of Levitate – Your Levitate spell no longer requires a reagent.  
Here is why this is cool. HOW IS THIS NOT COOL? Farming light feathers sucks. Add to this that when you jump off a ledge and you are mashing on that button and it turns out you DON’T have any feathers, you swear as you pancake on the ground. This removes the need to farm, and it adds a level of security that few have known before. If you only have one glyph on your priest, This is IT!

MINOR 2: Glyph of Fortitude – Reduces the mana cost of your Power Word: Fortitude and Prayer of Fortitude spells by 50%.  
Here is why this is cool.  Every time there is a wipe (That’s the tanks fault!), and every time you form a group, you utilize PW: Fortitude. Mana reduction increases your ability to stay in the fight, and decreases the amount of time required to buff your group. This is always a plus.

MINOR 3: Glyph of Fading – Reduces the mana cost of your Fade spell by 30%.  
Here is why this is cool. Mana reduction on spells is a common recurring theme in my posts. Anything that the priest can do to improve his healing ability or lengthen his staying power in combat is considered to be a plus. In this case, since you are mashing on the fade button every 30 seconds anyways (You are, aren’t you?), this will removes some of the mana cost of doing so. Thus, giving you 30% more fades for your money before you run out of mana. Or, over the course of 6 fades, giving you one more greater heal. That’s always a plus.

MAJOR 1: Glyph of Renew – Reduces the duration of your Renew by 3 sec. but increases the amount healed each tick by 25%. 
Here is why this is cool. I throw out renews to keep my tank alive. My tank takes massive damage. I can renew on a regular basis, but for those 10 seconds that this is ticking, it is doing a more effective job of keeping him alive.

MAJOR 2: Glyph of Flash Heal – Reduces the mana cost of your Flash Heal by 10%  
Here is why this is cool. Flash heal is a bread and butter spell for priests. Considering that mana usage is what determines your long term effectiveness, any method of reducing the mana cost of a common spell is considered a good thing. By reducing an already lowered spell cost by another 10%, you are improving your staying power in a long fight by that much more.

MAJOR 3: Glyph of Dispel Magic – Your Dispel Magic spell also heals your target for 6% of maximum health.  
Here is why this is cool. About half the time that someone is affected by some sort of magic, it is also causing damage. This eases the number of spells I need to cast to keep someone alive. Pair this with talents that lower the mana cost of this spell, and talents that lower the cost of instant spells in general, and this become a very cheap and very effective multi function ability. 
Of all the glyphs that I use, this one is the only one I have reservations about. I have been unable to find the Glyph of Spirit of Redemption on the AH as of yet. As soon as I do, there is a decent chance this one will be replaced.

So there it is, THAT is how I am glyphed. That is WHY I am glyphed the way I am. And this is all part of the equation that makes me as AWESOME as I really am.

Comments are always a good thing.

8 Comments »

  1. Melinar said,

    As a lvl 76 holy priest, I’ve enjoyed those posts by Garen.

    Granted, I’m not as awesome as he is, but I can feel myself getting awesomer by the minute!!

  2. Zerehemnah said,

    Wait, what do you mean “Why I am the way I am”?

  3. altoholicmom said,

    @Melinar Thanks for the comment! Garen is a lot of fun isn’t he? Im sure you’ll be just as awesome as him when you reach the cap!

    @Zerehemnah Of course, sweet heart, I was referring to how awesome you are… >.<;;

  4. Zerehemnah said,

    Dear Wife,

    LIES!

    Love,
    -Garen

  5. Zerehemnah said,

    As for everyone else, I’ll have a couple more posts in the next few days.

    I have one brewing about being prepared.
    One about key rotations.
    One about farming gold.
    And one about why spirit is awesome.

    So yeah. Good stuff is coming.

  6. Melinar said,

    Do you pvp a bit, Garen? I don’t do much (pve server) but have been thinking of hitting some BGs once in a while… but last I tried, I had no idea what to do (except try to find a pocket warrior and heal him)… and died horribly, fast and often.

    Far be it for me to tell you what to write about… but should you ever run out of inspiration, you know…

    😉

  7. Euthanasia said,

    What about Glyph of Circle of Healing?

    That one makes your COH spell affect six people instead of five!! 20% more healing out!

    Since COH is a major portion of my healing out in a raid, I think that’s much more useful than Glyph of Dispel Magic.

  8. vanisanna said,

    thank you for the information…..are these the ones since the patch i was just trying to do holy for my preist which is only a lvl 27


Leave a comment