December 23, 2008

Lake Wintergrasp

Posted in PvP, Questing, Raids, WoW at 6:12 pm by Andrea

 

Naxx PuG

Naxx PuG

Hello Blogosphere. I appolgize for the lack in updates lately, I spent the good chunk of the last week sick in bed, the first two days I litterally slept… and after that, I wandered out into Azeroth to try my hand at a run here and there… I got in on a PuG Naxx, my first run, and was second in overall heals by 1% behind a druid (Which isn’t bad in my opinion, druids always kick my ass in overall total). We got Patchwerk and uhm… crap… a spider dude. I didn’t get any drops, but it was fun to learn. It was a full pug so the fact that we got anything is a shock at all. However, that isn’t what this post is about, I just wanted to catch you up in the latest ongoings that I missed out on posting over my very very sick weekend.

 

Lake Wintergrasp. Perhaps you’ve noticed it. Perhaps you’ve ventured on over there. I don’t PvP as much as I used to, but I do like to go in now and again and give it a go. Yes, even on my PvE healers. However, Lake Wintergrasp is more than just a massive open world PvP zone, its also the best farming zone in the game, less skinning. You got your herbs (The only zone in the game that has nodes for frost lotus on its own) you got your mining nodes (titanium and saronite, haven’t noticed any cobolt). And then, theres the eternals. Every kind of eternal can be farmed here, and whoever wins the zone doesn’t only get the buff that gives the spirit shards, you also are able to see the Revenants. These mobs promise at least 1 crystalized element, but can possibly give up to 3.

 

Assault on the Main Gate

Assault on the Main Gate

Also, there are more dailies out here! (All quests are level 80 and give gold, honor and a spirit shard)

 

Horde:

  1. Victory in Wintergrasp
  2. Stop the Siege
  3. Fueling the Demolishers
  4. No Mercy for the Merciless
  5. A Rare Herb
  6. Bones and Arrows

Alliance:

  1. Victory in Wintergrasp
  2. Stop the Siege
  3. Fueling the Demolishers
  4. No Mercy for the Merciless
  5. The Battle for Lake Wintergrasp
    The Battle for Lake Wintergrasp

    A Rare Herb

  6. Bones and Arrows

So what is Lake Wintergrasp? Simply put, it’s a PvP zone. Even on a PvE server you will flag if you go there. This means that the opposing faction can kill you, many times if they so choose. However, I have noticed on my own server that outside of the actual battle, the Horde and Alliance ignore each other if they are farming… this is not always the case, I got a certain DK I owe a face smash in to myself.

The Battle for Lake Wintergrasp

So you wanna PvP with the other kids? Don’t know what you’re doing? Don’t worry, I didn’t either. Mostly I just run around and heal people which is all good. But in case you wanna KNOW what you’re doing, let’s break it down for you. First you should know that whoever won the zone in the last game is going to be defending it in the next game. If you are on the defensive, then it is your job to prevent the opposing faction from breaking through your walls…. if you are on the offensive, then you will need to grab up some seige weapons and start breaking stuff.

To get a seige weapon on either side you need to achieve a rank via kills during the battle. These ranks are:

  1. Corporal – Wintergrasp Catapult
  2. First Lieutenant – Wintergrasp Siege Engine
  3. First Lieutenant – Wintergrasp Demolisher

 

Epic Battle

Epic Battle

To win the battle, either defend the fortress from the opposing faction for the duration of the game, or defeat the defenders by breaching the inner most doors and touching the golden orb for ten seconds without interuption (similar to the flags in AB). If one side outnumbers another Blizzard has given a buff that can stack up to 20 times (depending on how badly you are outnumbered) that increases Health, Spellpower, Health Regen, and Damage output by a large number. So fear not, if you are outnumbered, you become the unstoppable force.

 

Winning also unlocks a PvE encounter that can be ten manned or 25 manned, and offers tier 7 equivelent loot. So doing some PvP offers some PvE bonuses. Not to mention some of the turn ins for the spirit shards are Bind to Account which means you can send them off to low level alts and the gear will scale for them as the level. Pretty awesome stuff.

I had the chance to go into Wintergrasp last night and not only found 6 of my guildies already in battle, but also two full raid groups of alliance battling a full on onslaught from the horde. I was only in the battle for the last seven minutes but I walked out with over 240 kills and nearly 2k honor. Not bad for seven minutes… so put on that war paint and get out there, its worth exploring.

Leave a Reply

