August 16, 2008

Come On Now, Its Not That Hard

Posted in Raids, WoW tagged , , , , at 12:51 am by Andrea

This is what I get I guess for being fairly well known, and having a tanking toon. Today a few in my guild were involved in a PuG Gruul’s Run. Not a big deal there’s tons of those going all the time, so I thought I’d give a hand and thus was invited on my rogue. I was excited for you see, she of course could benefit from the DST like every other melee in the game. So I pop in, raid is filled up, we buff and go. The count down is started and everyone appears to be in place.

The pull goes and is successful. Myself and the other melee take down the healer. It takes us longer then it should because it would seem I’m the only one interrupting heals. After just a minute or two I hear that we lost a tank, then we lost HKM’s tank as well. That’s a wipe. Immediately PuGs start leaving. Now that’s the part that bothers me. You get in on a PUG (key word there), don’t expect it to be flawless! Besides that if everyone knows their roles it shouldn’t be THAT hard. If you don’t know, just ask. I refer to this chart:

Raid Group 101

Raid Group 101

 

Btw I have no idea where that picture came from. If its yours, then speak up and I’ll be happy to give credit. But anyways, so we lose a good chunk of people, including a tank. Soooo I have to swap over to my Paladin, Pallylust. Once on her we rebuild the group this time with a few more guildies and get back underway. Low and behold one shot all the way. I even Main Tanked Gruul without an issue at all. Pretty flawless really. Why the PuG couldn’t pull it off is beyond me though.

I was feeling pretty proud of myself. Pallylust of course does not need anything from the place except maybe some tokens for her Ret Set PvP gear. So Im just jumping around not paying attention until I realize what is up to be rolled on. Yup, you guessed it, the DST. I’m not usually frustrated by this sort of thing, but today, I wanted to cry. Added on top of all the real life crap going on, it was like the cherry on top. At least though, it went to another guildie who won with a roll of 96. Grats to him.

In the meantime, I’ll not be doing any more PuGs for a while.

1 Comment »

  1. wowblogger said,

    Haha I also have pug-itus. It all started in deadmines… No joke. On my new alt it was a nightmare. Mages who wanted to tank and tanks who wanted to pull the whole instance. Safe to say I am never pugging again… well maybe in WOTLK 🙂
    First time I have visited your blog and I have to say I like it. Feel free to drop by and see what you think of mine 🙂
    Keep up the good work!
    samownall – World of Warcraft Blogger


Leave a Reply

